• 2020

    Loren Rieseberg elected to the US National Academy of Science.

  • 2018

    Joint Meeting of Phycological Society of America and International Society for Protistology.

  • 2017

    Botany hosts the Plant Sea to Sky conference, a joint meeting of The Canadian Society of Plant Biologists (CSPB-SCBV) and the Canadian Society for Horticultural Science (CSHS).

  • 2016-2021

    Sean Graham, Head.

  • 2015

    Patrick Keeling awarded a Canada Research Chair 1 in Microbial Diversity and Evolution.

  • 2014

    Laura Parfrey awarded a Canada Research Chair 2 in Aquatic Microbial Protist Ecology.

  • 2014

    Abel Rosado awarded a Canada Research Chair 2 in Cellular Dynamics.

  • 2012

    Shona Ellis is appointed as UBC’s First Professor of Teaching.

  • 2012

    Patrick Keeling elected to the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

  • 2011

    Patrick Keeling elected to the Royal Society of Canada.

  • 2011-2016
  • 2010

    Beaty Biodiversity Museum opens.

  • 2010

    Loren Rieseberg elected to the Royal Society (London) and Royal Society of Canada.

  • 2009

    UBC Herbarium relocates to the new Biodiversity Research Centre.

  • 2008

    Botany co-hosts ‘Botany 2008’ conference, a joint meeting of the Botanical Society of America, Canadian Botanical Association, American Fern Society, and American Society of Plant Taxonomists.

  • 2008

    Curtis Suttle elected to the Royal Society of Canada.

  • 2007

    Construction begins for the Beaty Biodiversity Centre, future home of the UBC Herbarium.

  • 2006-2011

    Fred Sack, Head (picture of faculty members)

  • 2006

    Loren Rieseberg awarded a Canada Research Chair 1 in Plant Evolutionary Genomics.

  • 2004

    Geoffrey Wasteneys awarded a Canada Research Chair 1 in Plant Cell Biology.

  • 2003

    Wayne Maddison awarded a Canada Research Chair 1 in Biodiversity and Systematics.

  • 2002

    International Society for Evolutionary Protistology Meeting XIV

  • 1999-2006

    Carl Douglas, Head

  • 1996

    F.J.R. “Max” Taylor elected to the Royal Society of Canada.

  • 1994

    Botany co-hosts the 5th International Mycological Congress.

  • 1994-1999

    Iain Taylor, Head

  • 1991-1994

    David Turpin, Head (picture of the department)

  • 1986-1990

    Anthony Glass, Head (picture of faculty members)

  • 1977

    Botany, Biology, and the Dean of Science occupy the North wing of Biological Sciences.

  • 1975
  • 1973

    UBC Herbarium relocates to top of the West wing of the Biological Sciences Building.

  • 1971-1986

    Robert Scagel, Head

  • 1965

    Six faculty members collaborate to publish An Evolutionary Survey of the Plant Kingdom by Robert F. Scagel, Robert J. Bandoni, Glenn E. Rouse, W.B. Schofield, Janet R. Stein, and T.M. Taylor; a book that put the Botany Department onto the textbook best seller list for almost a decade.

  • 1964

    Department of Botany renamed Botany and Biology.

  • 1964-1971

    Neil Towers, Head

  • 1954-1964

    Thomas M. C. Taylor, Head

  • 1951

    Vladimir Krajina (former Secretary of State in the post-WWII government of Czechoslovakia and former Professor of Charles University in Prague) arrived at UBC. Developed the Biogeoclimactic Zone system for BC forests and led the lobby to establish BC’s Ecological Reserves.

  • 1921-1922

    Department of Botany established with the following teaching faculty:

    • Andrew H. Hutchinson, Associate Professor of Botany
    • John Davidson, FLS, FBSE, Botanist in charge of Herbarium and Botanical Gardens
    • J.W. Eastham, Lecturer in Plant Pathology
    • H.A. Dunlop, Assistant in Botany and Zoology

  • 1916

    Appointment of Andrew H. Hutchinson, as Assistant Professor of Botany.

  • 1912

    Davidson starts a botanical garden and arboretum at the BC Colony Farm in Coquitlam. This garden provides the initial stock for the UBC Botanical Garden on the Point Grey campus.

  • 1911

    John Davidson arrives in BC from Scotland. Appointed Provincial Botanist and required to teach at the “new university”.